Recipes 41 and 42: Spinach Soup and Rosemary Croutons

May 7, 2011

Source: http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/spinach_soup_with_rosemary_croutons.html

Listening to: The National (album: high violet)

I knew I wanted soup last Monday. So when happened across one that was so green that it looked like it shouldn’t go into a human body because it might be alien blood, naturally I picked that one.

The croutons went first because they involved more cooking. I cut up sourdough bread and mixed it with olive oil and fresh chopped rosemary. And then I cooked it. It so easy it barely counts as a recipe. But it does count as a recipe because Stef said they were really good.

The recipe was very simple. I cut up the potatoes and onion and added the spices and broth to the pot to simmer. Then I cut up my spinach, which mostly stressed me out because there was just SO MUCH SPINACH. I didn’t even think it would fit in the pot. But when I added it to the pot it all wilted. Then I stressed that it wouldn’t be green. Which was, of course, was the whole point of making it.

Everything went in the blender after simmering. Any day I get to use a blender is a good day.

And the Lord saw it, and it was green.

Did I like the spinach soup? Uhm. Well. It tasted like spinach soup. And the leftovers are still in my fridge four days later.

On to the next one.

20110507-012627.jpg

20110507-012631.jpg

20110507-012634.jpg

20110507-012639.jpg

20110507-012645.jpg

20110507-012648.jpg

Leave a Reply

