Recipe 31: Passover Seder: Charoset

April 26, 2011

Source: http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/haroset-for-passover/Detail.aspx

Passover Seder Entries Disclaimer: My family celebrates Easter, but this year my mother and I decided to study the Passover tradition and have a Seder. The Jewish traditions are undeniably ancient, interesting, respectable and beautiful. We made a total of eight Passover dishes, most of which having special meaning to the tradition. I will be sharing what each of these means in the ceremonial feast along with sharing my normal ramblings. I just wanted to make it clear that I don’t take the Passover Seder tradition lightly. I don’t want to take away from it’s sanctity at all. I also do not claim to be a Passover expert. Despite my research, if I have misspoken in any regard, do not hesitate to correct me.

Passover Meaning: this lumpy mixture represents the mortar and brick that the Israelites lay to build the Egyptian storehouses.

I claim to be some sort of wine connoisseur. I guess I am to certain degree, but I don’t like sweet wine, so I know very little about it.

While mom sought out a new garlic press, she put me in charge of finding the sweet red wine for our Charoset. I stood in Red wine section for about five minutes, staring at merlots, shirazes, cabernets and wondering what the crap this recipe was talking about.

I swallowed my pride and asked the wine department attendant where I could find a sweet red wine.

She led me over to a wall that I had not visited and handed me a bottle that said:

“Sweet Red Wine.”

I slapped her across the face, told her to stop patronizing me and went to find my mother. (Let’s play two lies and a truth with the last sentence. What part do you think is true? Did you guess the finding my mom? Winner winner, Passover Seder dinner.)

At home, we cut up the apples and broke up the walnuts. We added the honey, sugar, cinnamon and wine, shook it up and voila, Charoset. It was very yummy like apple pie. Definitely a recipe well use again.

On to the next one.

20110425-084329.jpg

20110425-084336.jpg

Leave a Reply

