Recipe 29: Passover Seder: Matzah

April 25, 2011

Source: http://www.reciperascal.com/unleavened-bread/

Passover Seder Entries Disclaimer: My family celebrates Easter, but this year my mother and I decided to study the Passover tradition and have a Seder. The Jewish traditions are undeniably ancient, interesting, respectable and beautiful. We made a total of eight Passover dishes, most of which having special meaning to the tradition. I will be sharing what each of these means in the ceremonial feast along with sharing my normal ramblings. I just wanted to make it clear that I don’t take the Passover Seder tradition lightly. I don’t want to take away from it’s sanctity at all. I also do not claim to be a Passover expert. Despite my research, if I have misspoken in any regard, do not hesitate to correct me.

Unleavened Bread: Matzah (or Matzo): During the week of Passover, the Jewish people do not eat regular bread, only unleavened, as is commanded in Exodus. According to some of the texts I read, though there are some differences in other texts, the unleavened bread of the passover feast is split into three loaves to represent Abraham, Isaac and Jacob. The loaf representative of Isaac is broken, perhaps as a represent of Abrahams willingness to sacrifice.

Matzah does not rise. There’s no rising agent. It’s not supposed to rise. It’s also not supposed to look like a cow pie.

To spare you all the gory details, I’ll just list the miscellaneous things that were said about the matzah bread that mom and I made:

“Yea, that looks like a cow pie.”

“If that was the bread at communion, I think people would stop going to that church.”

“We’re buying other bread to eat; we’re not eating this.”

[Blank stare.]

“I could throw that through a window as an act of vandalism.”

“Why do we have to leave this to rise over night if the point of the bread is to not rise?”

“We have to break the bread in the ceremony. Is it going to break?”

“How does it look? The same as it did 12 hours ago.”

“That’s Matzah?”

To our credit, the matzah was NOT that mad. It was edible. My nephew even ate it. When he doesn’t like things, he just spits it out, which he didn’t do. And it was symbolic and neat.

Not too mention, as tradition calls, we hid the third loaf for my oldest nephew to find (my younger nephew is too young). I had to put a jelly bean in it to get him excited about the idea, but it was fun.

Lessons learned:

1. Make sure you have enough time to let bread rise before you start making it.

On to the next one.

20110424-110616.jpg

20110424-110624.jpg

20110424-110627.jpg

One Response to “Recipe 29: Passover Seder: Matzah”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Where is the footnote – None of this could have happened without Kathy’s whole wheat flour?


Leave a Reply

