Recipe 27: Pork Tenderloin

April 22, 2011

Source: Moms friend Sandy (recipe in recipe page)

It’s been a little rough keeping up with my blog lately. I started a new job that is great but wears me out because it’s so new and I’m just not used to it yet. And my sister is in town which means dinner at mom and dads every night. Which are dinners cooked by people who can actually cook.

I talked to a friend the other day and she said: Mal, did you know you’re only on recipe 25? You have so much to do. Then I cried for three hours.

Lie. But I DO need to catch up. I informed my mother of this last night and she said: great, you can help me with the tenderloin for tomorrow.

As we unwrapped the meat from it’s slimy plastic and I tried not to think to hard about what I was doing, I heard something defrosting in the microwave. I didn’t know what it was, and I didn’t ask. I figured it might be coffee or something and that’s not interesting.

We made the marinade in a matter of minutes. It was very simple. Soy sauce, brown sugar, spices. Mix it together, put it in the bag with the meat to soak overnight.

But oh no. The microwave had a very special hidden ingredient in it. An ingredient that holds the answers to all the worlds problems. An ingredient that makes veganism seem impossible.

“WERE WRAPPING IT IN BACON?!”

I couldn’t believe it. It was such Christmas miracle. Meat. Wrapped in meat. Double meat. Meat meat. Bacon meat. Bacon pork. Pacon. Bork. So much meat.

We took the tenderloins and wrapped three pieces of bacon around each of them. Die to the moisture of the meat, the bacon sticks right on. We stuck the bacon covered pork in plastic bags and poured in the marinade. They hung out it the fridge all day until they were cooked an hour before dinner.

How did they taste? Just imagine meat, wrapped it bacon, covered in moonbeams and pixie dust. It was a lot like that.

Lessons learned:

1. You must pack down brown sugar to get the right amount.

2. Dad doesn’t like brown sugar.

3. Mom does.

On to the next one.

20110421-103053.jpg

20110421-103102.jpg

20110421-103107.jpg

20110421-103111.jpg

20110421-103118.jpg

One Response to “Recipe 27: Pork Tenderloin”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Dear Mal,
    I strongly suggest that you watch this nights episode of Parks and Recreation. They try to make Ron eat a turkey burger. It’s a must see!
    Love, Lisa


Leave a Reply

