Recipe 24: Chocolate Mint Crinkle Cookies

April 18, 2011

Source: http://www.food.com/recipe/chocolate-mint-crinkle-cookies-444077

I got a voicemail from Lisa last week that said the following:

Mal. I found little chickens with glasses on.

This message made perfect sense to me. We hadn’t been on some long hunt for glasses clad chicks, but we do have friends on the east coast that we intend to send care packages to, so naturally chickens need to be involved.

Also naturally, this turned into a cooking project because I am getting behind in my 100 day dare and everyone goes back to cooking right now.

“UUUUUGHHHHHH! I DON’T WANT TO COOK TONIGHT!”

Sometimes this commitment that I have made seems like a chore. I was in no mood to cook that night. I was tired and cranky and in the mood for lying on the couch and being hand-fed fresh grapes.

Poor Lisa had to deal with my ever growing sour mood as we went on a wild goose chase running errands across town for the recipe from her moms, a mixer at my moms, and a stop by Best Buy. I shouldn’t have been in public. When we left Best Buy, I went on a 20 minute rant about how the sales guy didn’t know jack about FireWire cables. I was appalled. About FireWire knowledge. Poor Lisa.

Luckily, by the time we left both of our parents houses, we had a recipe, mixer, and to our knowledge all necessary ingredients.

FALSO. Why falso? Because baking soda is NOT the same as baking powder. And we had a call in to both of our moms to prove it.

One more trip to Target and Lisa and Grouchy McBitch were ready to make some dough. After a rough night, which was only rough because I chose to have a bad attitude, we nailed the recipe. NAILED IT. Funny how easy cookies can be with a powered mixer…

As for our eastern ladies, get ready.

As for Lisa, thanks for dealing with me on my bitchy nights and still choosing to be my friend.

Lessons learned:

1. Maybe don’t cook on nights like these. Maybe lock yourself in a dark room.

On to the next one.

(all pics of this and the last recipe were deleted in an iPhone mishap. Forgive me. There will be pics for recipes from here on out.)

2 Responses to “Recipe 24: Chocolate Mint Crinkle Cookies”

  1. Tara Says:

    Can’t wait to hang out tomorrow, Grouchy McBitch!

  2. Lisa Says:

    GIRRRRRRRRLLL please, thank you for fulfilling my chocolate cravings. Also, as if you haven’t had to listen to my messed up medical problems for the past 15 years.

    Also I just saw a Poise pad commercial that Whoopi Goldberg was in and I know you would have laughed hysterically at it.


Leave a Reply

