Recipe 15: Goat Cheese

April 3, 2011

Source: a package of bacteria

There were two pints of goat milk in the fridge.

My brother in law makes beer. Good beer. Beer that requires going to a special shop to buy beer ingredients. A shop that also sells the necessary bacteria to make different cheeses. Cheeses that include goat cheese.

Kristi and I tried the goat milk before turning it into cheese. It’s not the worst thing I’ve had in my life, but I wouldn’t out it in my cocoa pebbles. Mostly because i wouldn’t be able to hear myself crunching over the baa-ing goat in my head.

I don’t really think goats say baa. I think they say mer. I think all animals say mer, just different variations of the word mer. There isn’t an animal that you can give me that I couldn’t use the word mer for to make it’s sound. Mer is the most common onomatopoeia in the universe. I’ve told this philosophy to other people and apparently I’m the only person in the universe who agrees with myself. But that doesn’t make it less true.

We added the bacteria to two pints of goat milk. It was supposed to sit in a room that was 72 degrees for 12 hours. Kristi an Jason’s house is not 72 degrees, but we put it in the oven and hoped for the best.

The next morning the cheese was a light cream. We strained this cream in a muslin wrap. There it was to sit for another six hours.

I didn’t get to try it before I had to catch my flight. I asked Kristi to try it when the six hours were over and tell me if it was legit. She immediately replied: it’s very good. And I told her: no, you didn’t try it yet. And she said: oooooooh ooooh oooooh.

So. Well just say it was good. And easy. But required a lot of waiting.

On to the next one.

20110403-080559.jpg

20110403-080632.jpg

20110402-035807.jpg

20110402-035821.jpg

Leave a Reply

