Recipe 13: Potato and Spinach Frittata

April 2, 2011

Source: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Spinach-and-Potato-Frittata/Detail.aspx

Listening to: Alexi Murdoch (EP: Towards the Sun)

I can’t eat breakfast until I brush my teeth, but I seldom travel with a toothbrush. When I was young, Mom packed all necessary toiletries for me. Now I’m 23, on a trip, and I don’t have any toiletries because my Moms not here. Hi Mom.

If I am visiting family or friend, I will buy a toothbrush when I get there and hide the toothbrush away in the house somewhere for my next trip. That toothbrush is never there upon my return. It is always discarded or used as a scrubbing apparatus for bathroom floors.

But these days I eat herb fries a lot, so I always carry a toothbrush with me because I always get herbs in my teeth. So this morning did not require a pre-breakfast trip to the drug store like a normal vacation. I was ready to get my cook on.

When we looked up recipes for breakfast this morning, we picked a frittata. We didn’t pick it because we know what a frittata is. We picked it because we like the word frittata.

Then we looked it up on Wikipedia. A frittata is an egg dish similar to a quiche or an omelette with meat, cheese, vegetables or plaza. This definition didn’t matter in the least. It’s called a frittata, so we we’re going to cook it regardless.

For the second recipe in a row, I looked at the recipe before I started cooking. It started with potatoes in a skillet. Then I added the vegetables and spices and let them blend in for a few minutes while I whisked the eggs. Add the eggs and let it sit on low heat. One awesome and nutritious breakfast that looked nothing like a frittata should. We’ll call it a frittata scramble.

Lessons Learned:

1. So that’s what a green onion is.

2. Waking up to the sound of a 7 month old is much better than an alarm.

3. Starting a day cooking breakfast sets a nice tone for a productive day.

4. Measuring spoons are way overrated. I’m starting to get a grasp on what amounts to what without them.

On to the next one.

20110401-083633.jpg

20110401-083842.jpg

Leave a Reply

