Recipe 11: Homemade Pizza Supreme

April 1, 2011

Source: http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/homemade-pizza-supreme/Detail.aspx

Listening to: Edith Piaf Pandora Station

I wish that Sky Mall magazine was a real mall. In the sky. That way when we fly in airplanes we can make a quick stop at the wind powered foot massager store to buy a quick wind powered massager for our feet. Or maybe pick up a patch of grass that our dogs can pee on in the house.

I flew in an airplane to Minneapolis this morning to visit my sister, brother in law and nephew. Kristi, my sister, fully expected three days of cooking upon my arrival.

We left the house twice today. Both times we went to a grocery store. On one of our trips I was sorting through our list of ingredients and Kristi said: I’ve decided to learn species of trees.

Me: what? Why?

Kristi: Because no one knows what trees are what. So I’m going to learn them.

Me: [blank stare]

Kristi: Look there’s a birch tree.

Me: [blank stare]

Kristi: That’s all I know so far.

We started dinner way too early. Making pizza does not take three hours, so don’t cook it right after lunch. If you look at the prep time, you might learn that before you start cooking.

We didn’t, obviously. But Kristi did say: I’m not going to let you start cooking this until you have read the recipe because you keep not doing that. So I did.

The first part required mixing yeast with water. Yeast makes me uncomfortable, but I didn’t know what it was until this afternoon. It’s not that scary. Then we mixed this with flour, oil and salt. Then I got to knead the dough while my sister and nephew, Judah-Judah, danced to Ella Fitzgerald. I took dance breaks too because I’m so good at it.

We let the dough sit and then rolled it out. The sauce was prepared. My sister doesn’t use measuring spoons, so today I didn’t either. It was invigorating. We put this on the pizza along with the cut vegetables and it was ready to cook.

The pizza wasn’t stellar, but it was good. I think I won’t necessarily use the recipe again, but man, I made dough today. Who knew.

Lessons learned:

1. Garlic can be a wasteful veggie considering how much you have to take off to get to the good stuff.

2. Yeast usually comes in packets, but Kristi buys it in a container. It causes dough to rise.

3. I have really cute nephews. Ok. Ive known this for a while.

On to the next one.

20110331-092525.jpg

20110331-092531.jpg

20110331-092537.jpg

20110331-092543.jpg

20110331-092551.jpg

20110331-092605.jpg

20110331-092627.jpg

20110331-092633.jpg

20110331-092640.jpg

20110331-092648.jpg

One Response to “Recipe 11: Homemade Pizza Supreme”


  1. Love that baby. And his aunt. And that you were listening to Edith Piaf Pandora station.

    I have an awesome pizza recipe you should try if you like Thai food. Maybe we can make it when I come to St. Louis. I know I keep saying this, but meh. It’s true.

    Here: http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/thai_chicken_pizza.html

    I also suggest adding any combination of the following to your pizza: sprouts, shredded carrots, green onion and LOTS of chopped peanuts and crushed red pepper. And you could also buy peanut sauce to dip it in since you like dip so much.

    Okay, I’m done commenting now.


Leave a Reply

