Recipe 9: Gnocchi with Zucchini Ribbons and Parsley

March 30, 2011

Source: http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/gnocchi_with_zucchini_ribbons_parsley_brown_butter.html

Listening to: A quiet kitchen

You’re intimidated by the title of this post. I know that.

But before you consider me a brilliant chef who should instead have a blog called “the girl who can cook real good”, you must consider the following: At the grocery store, I had to google search zucchini. And then I had to click on the image link. And it still took me ten minutes in the produce department to find it.

To further my naivety to the cooking world, I had to ask where the shallots were.

Me: Where the shallots at?

Supermarket worker: What is a shallot?

Me: I don’t really know.

Supermarket worker: Well I don’t normally work produce. What does it look like?

Me: Uh. Ger. I don’t know? Maybe its by the garlic?

Which it was. But I should have known for sure considering I just saw a shallot and had a conversation about shallots four days ago. (See banana’s foster post). I worry I may not be retaining anything.

I got my bag of fresh ingredients home and started cooking. I boiled the gnocchi to a float, and then realized that I should have had the vegetables ready by the time they started to float.

I had to youtube cutting shallots, which was a blast. You get to break the shallots with you mighty she-woman hands and then slice it into small bits.  And the lady in the video was so excited about it, and so was I. I used a cheese cutter to cut “zucchini ribbons”, and then put one in my ponytail.

After sauteeing the shallots and zucchini ribbons, I added the spices. I did all this by hand. Not because I knew what a 1/2 tsp or 1/4 tsp or tbsp looks like in my hand, but because I couldn’t find the measuring spoons.

I added the gnocchi in and shredded so much cheese into it. So good ya’ll (still channeling Paula Deen), and so good for me too. Not to mention I got three meals out of one recipe. Holler.

Lessons learned:

1. Seriously. Gotta start looking at the recipes before you start cooking.

2. Seriously. Gotta prep the food before you start cooking.

3. A cheese slicer makes a fine veggie slicer.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On to the next one.

One Response to “Recipe 9: Gnocchi with Zucchini Ribbons and Parsley”

  1. Molly Says:

    Love the shot of des peres schnucks!


Leave a Reply

