Recipe 10: Ghirardelli Mousse

March 30, 2011

Source: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Ghirardelli-Chocolate-Mousse/Detail.aspx

Listening to: The Strokes (album: Angles)

If you only have five minutes left in your day, don’t read this post, listen to the new strokes album instead.

Anyway.

I promised a friend from work some dessert. I don’t know how I got my heart set on mousse; it just kind of happened.

This recipe only has four ingredients: chocolate, sugar, eggs and heavy whipping cream.

The only time I’ve used heavy whipping cream in my life is when I simply had to pour it on top of something. This time around, it had to be whipped into “peaks”.

Me: What the crap is a peak?

Sister: Really? Its like icing. Icing has peaks.

So I started whipping. By hand. Ten minutes later it was still liquid. It was not icing consistency. It was never going to be icing consistency.

Me: MY ARM HURT REAL BAD!

Sister: Yea, that’s typically done in a mixer.

Me: WE DON’T HAVE A MIXER! EVERYTHING HURTS!

Sister: Yea. That’s gonna take another hour.

I don’t ever work out my arms, so after another ten minutes, when it was barely a light cream, my muscles were screaming. I was searching around the kitchen for any alternative option.

Food Processor.

I poured about a three fourths of the cream into the processor and a fourth on the kitchen counter. But it worked. My chocolate was melting in a bowl over a pot of boiling water, and I looked at the recipe.

“Whip the egg and sugar for ten minutes.”

And THAT’S why sane people don’t make mousse. I don’t want to talk about it.

Then everything was folded together. I left it in the fridge over night, and by the morning that chocolate mush was definitely mousse, definitely rich and definitely something I ate thrice today.

Lessons Learned:

1. Mixer.

2. Mixer.

3. Buy one.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On to next one.

One Response to “Recipe 10: Ghirardelli Mousse”

  1. Tara Says:

    I can’t wait.


Leave a Reply

