Recipe 8: Roasted Asparagus and Mushrooms

March 28, 2011

Source: http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/roasted-asparagus-and-mushrooms/Detail.aspx

Listening to: My nephew singing the theme song of Veggietales, which is mostly incoherent.

I think my nephews are more developed than other kids their ages. My oldest nephew, who dined with us tonight, is two. He can talk in sentences. He can remember everything. He knows more about trains than I do. He walked into the kitchen with no pants on and asked for a lollipop because he pooped in a toilet. He’s a very smart kid.

My nephew was especially smart tonight because he ate cheesy hot dogs for dinner, and not the side I made, which was incredibly boring.

I think I have a tendency to think mushrooms make things more exciting. I was excited to get to use them tonight. I cut up some asparagus and added mushrooms, salt, pepper and olive oil to a bowl. I needed rosemary which was MIA. I asked my mother what a good substitute would be and she suggested thyme. Unfortunately, this lead to a long line of terrible puns about time from my family.

“Who has the thyme anymore?:

“I think its thyme to find the rosemary.”

“Wait guys. Thyme out.”

“I think its thyme to eat.”

And one sad excuse for a Simon and Garfunkel quote:

“Maybe you should add parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme.”

All of us were saying these jokes and I don’t know why. It went on and on. It wasn’t funny. And at some point I thought to myself: I don’t understand why we’re still talking about thyme. I don’t want to say anymore puns. Also I can’t think of anymore. And then it stopped.

I stuck the mixture on a cookie sheet and let it cook until the asparagus was tender. I served it as a side to shrimp scampi. On a scale of one to awesome, I give this recipe a: Meh? It was just like any other grilled asparagus. I couldn’t taste the spices really. I recommend not wasting your time on this one.

Lessons learned:

1. I need to learn about spices. I have no idea what any of them mean. Literally no idea.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On to the next one.

One Response to “Recipe 8: Roasted Asparagus and Mushrooms”

  1. Sean Coder Says:

    racecar sippie cup! Also, racecar is a palindrome. but yeehaw! is not. the veggies look yummy.


Leave a Reply

