Recipe 5: Star’s Bittersweet Chocolate Pudding

March 25, 2011

Source: My favorite Californian

Listening to: Four Benz’s trying to cook in the same kitchen

Today I got attacked by a Kitchen-Made blender. What did you do?

One would expect that when a Kitchen-Made mixer is not plugged in, it would be in the off position. One would expect that when the mixer is plugged in, the Kitchen-Made mixer will remain off until turned on. Well, lose all your false Kitchen-Made pretenses none of this is true. When I plugged the mixer in to cream some butter and brown sugar, it attacked my with its iron claw.

“BLERG!”

“What did you do, Mal?”

Luckily I walked away from this situation with four functional appendages. My family continued to watch my cooking with even more caution than before. Me in the kitchen is a new thing. Me around sharp objects has never been safe.

Tonight I tried to conquer one of the best desserts that has ever been cooked for me, and I went in with very low expectations. Mainly because it tastes good, and things I make typically don’t.

After creaming the butter and brown sugar, I started measuring the additional ingredient that needed to be sifted  in a separate bowl.. Before I could say bull honky my father had taken the reigns at the mixer. He added the eggs and the vanilla, and mixed it to a really liquid substance that made me a bit uneasy.

Shooter McGavin, this isn’t going to work.

Also, it turns out we don’t own a sifter. I guess we Benzes aren’t sifters. So we ignored that step. My grandmother, being the amazing southern Illinois cook that she is, helped me with the additional ingredients.

“How much salt?”

“A fourth a teaspoon.”

She promptly dashed some salt into her hand and dumped it in the bowl. No thought necessary. I want to be able to do that some day. I want to go to there.

The additional ingredients were added to the mixer to make quite a tasty batter. Then it was time to cook.

Instead of putting the batter into a large bowl, and in lieu of the fact that we don’t know what custard bowls are, we used a cupcake tray to make this souffle like dessert. It took eight years to add the batter to the cupcake holders because I had no idea how much to add. And as we were sticking it into the oven, which apparently took all four of us to do, I yelled:

Crap! It has to be in a water bath!

javascript:;So we used a cookie tray and poured water into it. We placed the muffin tray in the cookie tray so that the water spread around the bottom of the cups. I sat anxiously through dinner, checking in every five minutes to see if the mini-desserts would crack on top as they are supposed to.

They did.

My dad grabbed them out of the oven with oven mitts. Note that he was grabbing a cooking tray full of boiling water:

Mom: Maybe just leave the cookie tray for right now.

Dad: I got it.

Mom: You’re going to burn your hands off.

[Dad takes the tray out and spills boiling water all over the kitchen floor but not on himself. Note the worried look on my mothers face in the pictures.]

I served the family dessert. I poured heavy cream into the cracks of the individual desserts, and let it soak in. After sprinkling with powdered sugar, it was time to demand a verdict.

Ladies and gentlemen, I did it. I successfully made Star’s Bittersweet Chocolate Pudding, and I successfully ate two of them, and I successfully did not go on a run this evening because I was too full.

I respect a lot about my friend who gave this recipe to me. One of those things has always been her ability to cook so well at such a young age. Doubtful as it is that I will ever match her culinary abilities, it felt amazing to be able to cook one of the things she does so well.

Mal Benz for the win.

Lessons learned:

1. I want to own custard cups.

2. I want to figure out what a custard cup is.

3. The sifter actually would have been good to have, because despite heavy mixing there were still certain clumps of the powders that were visible in the dessert. Luckily they didn’t mess up the taste.

4. I don’t what water bath really does, and I’d like to know. Any hints on how that helped the dessert?

5. I could actually use a bath.

6. So could my dog.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On to the next one.

NOTE: All recipes will now be posted on the recipes part of this blog if the link is not posted as the source. Just in case you want to try one at home!

5 Responses to “Recipe 5: Star’s Bittersweet Chocolate Pudding”

  1. Kristi Says:

    HAHAHAHA! Mom’s face is priceless!

  2. Lisa Says:

    Yes, took note of your mothers face immediately!

  3. Lisa Says:

    P.S. You need to have more pictures of YOU cooking!

  4. Tara Says:

    If you want a completely unbiased opinion, I’d be happy to taste test any of these desserts for you. Because that’s just the kind of friend I am.

  5. kim a Says:

    yessss! i remember us cooking at your house, and by “us” i mean you watched and ate cooler ranch doritos! tell mama and papa benz hi for me!


Leave a Reply

